London Gardens Online
Select by type
London Gardens Online


Bandon Hill Cemetery Sutton

Bandon Hill Cemetery

> Enlarge picture
Bandon Hill Cemetery is a large Victorian cemetery laid out on a grid pattern in 1899 and opened in 1900 with the first burial on 7 March. It was created on open land to the south of Queenswood House. Originally set up Croydon Rural District Council, it was later the responsibility of a joint burial authority as a result of boundary changes. Its historic features include mature trees, the original entrance lodge and pair of chapels. There are a few significant graves, such as that of the composer Samuel Coleridge-Taylor (d.1912), whose memorial features musical notes from his composition 'Hiawatha'.
Previous / Other name: Bandon Hill Joint Cemetery
Site location: Plough Lane/Rockwood Avenue, Wallington
Postcode: SM6 8JQ
Type of site: Cemetery 
Date(s): 1899-1900
Listed structures:
Borough: Sutton
Site ownership: LBs Sutton & Croydon
Site management: Bandon Hill Joint Cemetery Committee
Open to public? Yes
Opening times: opens 8am weekdays/9am weekends/bank holidays; 10am Xmas/NY; closes 4.30pm Nov-Feb; 5pm Mar; 6pm Oct; 6.30pm April; 7pm May/Sept; 7.30pm June -August
Special conditions:
Public transport: Rail: Wallington; Waddon. Bus: 157, 154, 455.
The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/03/2012
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news.

Fuller information:

Bandon Hill Cemetery was established by Croydon Rural District Council but later came under a joint burial authority for Beddington & Wallington Corporation and Coulsdon and Purley UDC. The red-brick chapels, linked by a picturesque white wooden framed porte-cochère, were designed by R M Chart. When the new London borough were formed in 1965, the cemetery was jointly run by the London Boroughs of Croydon and Sutton, its management overseen by a Joint Committee comprising elected members from both Councils. Among those buried here are the music hall stars Eugeen Stratton (d.1918) and Joe Elvin (d.1935), in adjacent graves. The author and naturalist, Sir Charles Hose (d.1929) after whom The Hose's Palm Civet is named is also buried here. The cemetery contains the only species-rich acidic grassland within the Borough.

Sources consulted:

Bridget Cherry & Nikolaus Pevsner, The Buildings of England: London 2: South (Penguin) 1999; Hugh Meller & Brian Parsons, 'London Cemeteries, An Illustrated Guide and Gazetteer', 4th edition (The History Press, 2008)
Grid ref: TQ301646
Size in hectares: 6.25
On EH National Register : No
EH grade :
Site on EH Heritage at Risk list:
Registered common or village green
on Commons Registration Act 1965:
Protected under London Squares
Preservation Act 1931:
The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.
On Local List:
In Conservation Area: No
Conservation Area name:
Tree Preservation Order: No
Nature Conservation Area: No
Green Belt: No
Metropolitan Open Land: Yes
Special Policy Area: No
Other LA designation:

| Page Top |

Discover. Visit. Research. Explore.
< Back